Georgia has just passed a law that makes it illegal to hold your cell phone while driving. The new law is part of Georgia’s “hands-free” law and was passed in an attempt to limit drivers’ interactions with their mobile devices and keep their focus on the road. There are exceptions such as using the navigation services on the cell phone but other than the listed exceptions, the safety office of Georgia stated drivers can no longer have phones “touching any part of their body.”
A violation will result in a $50 fine for first time offenders, $100 for the second, $150 for the third and so on.
USA Today – July 2, 2018 – Drop that phone: It’s now illegal to hold your mobile device while driving in Georgia